FRED WILDON FICKETT COLLECTION
CALENDAR
I. DIARIES AND JOURNALS
1. Diary; Nov. 2, 1876 - Aug.,
1877. Six loose pages.
Discusses activities, school, college at Orono, end of engagement.
2. Diary; Aug. 29, 1880 -
Jan. 21, 1885; Jan. 1, 1886 - May 29, 1888. 102 pages (and 22
blank pages) 6.24 in. (W) by 7.75 in. (H).
Discusses his family, friends, social life, work, and teaching
in Maine; enlistment in the U.S. Army Signal Corps; military
training at Fort Myer, Virginia; trip to Sitka by way of San
Francisco; life, associates, and residents in Sitka and Alaska;
ordered to Portland, Oregon; ordered to accompany Lt. Henry Allen
on expedition up Copper River; return from expedition; preparation
of report; ordered to Washington, D.C. and then to Eastport,
Maine; marriage to Nellie T. Lord; ordered to Galveston, Texas;
activities in Galveston; M.A. thesis and degree; start of law
practice. The main individuals mentioned are Nellie Lord, Sgt.
John McLean, Maj. and Mrs. Morris, Lt. and Mrs. Thomas, Lt. Henry
Allen, Cmdr. J. B. Coghlan, Andrew Kashevarov, the Mitropolski
family, as well as many other military and civilian personnel.
Note: a number of entries in the diary have been scratched out
presumably by Fickett. Occasionally Fickett uses a simple code
to record private matters; it involves a utilization of the preceding
letter of the alphabet to replace the actual letter. It was first
used in late Dec., 1880.
3. Journal (Trip) ; Oct. 31,
1883 - Nov. 10, 1883; Aug. 25, 1884 - Sept. 9, 1884; Sept. 18,
1884 - Oct. 16, 1884. 26 pages (and 18 blank pages). 3.75in.
(W) by 6 in. (H). Volume lacks cover; several pages are loose.
Describes three trips: The first was an inspection trip from
Sitka to Killisnoo to Harrisburg and return on the steamer Rose;
the second was a prospecting trip to Cross Sound with Edward
Hale and Costa on a sailboat Nellie; and the third was a prospecting
trip (for copper) with Dr. Wyman and others on the Rose to Killisnoo
and Harrisburg and then to Glacier Bay; mentions meeting Joe
Juneau on trip. The journal also contains a list of supplies,
a list of expenses, and two hand-drawn maps.
4. Journal (Expedition); Mar.
20, 1885 - June 13, 1885. 50 pages (and 30 blank pages); approximately
4 in. (W) by 6.75 in. (H).
Discusses the Allen Expedition up the Copper River and describes
their activities and hardships; it also contains weather and
other scientific observations. The volume is Lt. Henry T. Allen's
bank book from the First National Bank of Portland, Oregon; there
is only one entry for Sept. 30, 1884, relating to a balance of
$241.84. The first page contains a list of abbreviations which
are used throughout the volume and in the next journal. The first
eleven entries are numbered one to eleven and correspond to Mar.
20 to 30, 1885. Since the book was carried on the expedition
and was written in pencil, it shows extensive wear and smudging
from use, dirt, and handling.
5. Journal (Expedition); June
14, 1885 -- Sept. 30, 1885. 73 pages (and 17 blank pages); approximately
3.75 in. (W) by 5.75 in. (H).
Continues the description of the Allen Expedition to its arrival
at Fort St. Michael on Sun., Aug. 30, 1885, as well as the trip
from that place to Unalaska.
6 . Journal (Trips); Oct.
1 - Nov. 18, 1885; Mar. 31 - Apr. 8, 1886; Sept. 10 - 21, 1886;
Jan. 4 - 7, 1887; Apr. 25 - May 2, 1888. 23 pages (and 7 blank
pages); approximately 3.75 in. (W) by 5.75 in. (H).
Describes several trips: the first is the return of the Allen
Expedition from Unalaska to San Francisco; the second covers
Fickett's trip from Portland to Washington; the third outlines
his trip from Eastport, Maine, to Galveston, Texas; the fourth
is his trip from Galveston to San Antonio, Texas, to reenlist;
the fifth covers a trip from Galveston to various other towns
and cities and his return. In addition, the volume contains a
list of expenditures for Sept. 1886, when Fickett was married.
7. Journal (Expedition); Jan.
28, 1885 - Aug. 30, 1885. 95 pages (and 5 blank pages). 5.5 in.
(W) by 8.25 in. (H). Volume spine is broken and many pages are
loose.
This volume begins with Fickett's leaving Portland, Oregon, to
go to Alaska for the start of the expedition to explore the Copper
River and the interior of Alaska. Discusses activities of members
of the expedition, their hardships, and their relationships with
one another and with the inhabitants of the region through which
they passed. After the March 20 entry, it is essentially a transcription
of Fickett's expedition journals (Nos. 3 and 4 above) with the
exceptions that it is written in ink, that the abbreviations
are spelled out, and that some entries have been expanded.
7a. Typescript copy of Journal number 7.
8. Journal (Expedition); Aug.
31, 1885 - Oct. 27, 1885. 13 pages (and 85 blank pages). 5.5.
in (W) by 8.25 in. (H).
Discusses stay at Fort St. Michael, trip on the U.S.S. Corwin
to Unalaska, sailing to San Francisco, and the trip from San
Francisco to Portland, Oregon.
II. NOTES, NOTEBOOKS, SPEECH
1. Notebook: "Notes on
Field Work in Surveying;" Spring and Fall Terms, 1878. 124
pages (and 40 blank pages). 3.75 in. (W) by 6.25 in. (H).
Contains notes on surveying class as well as biology. It also
lists the members of the surveying class.
2. Notebook (School Teaching);
n.d. 37 pages (and .3 blank pages).
3.4 in. (W) by 6.25 in. (H).
Contains notes for classes and students taught by F. W. Fickett,
as well as several pages of accounts and biology notes. One page
contains his rifle score made on Mar. 25 and Apr. 1, 1882, while
in the Army.
3. Notebook (School Teaching);
used by Nellie T. Lord; Spring, 1884.
53 pages (and 19 blank pages). 3.75 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
Contains class and lecture notes of Nellie T. Lord while teaching.
The notes primarily concern science and mathematics.
4. Notebook (Alaska); ca.
1885 -- 1886. 56 pages (and 44 blank pages).
5.5 in. (W) by 8.25 in. (H).
Contains information on Alaska gathered from various sources.
Much of the volume concerns Native Americans and their language,
customs, and numbers. Several pages are devoted to historical
developments and missionary activities. Many of the entries were
obtained from works by William H. Dall, Sheldon Jackson, and
Ivan Petroff. While the latest date is 1884, internal evidence
suggests that this information was gathered after the expedition
and possibly served as supporting documentation for the expedition
report.
5. Notes: "Copper River
Expedition, 1885;" 1885. 18 pages (and 18 blank pages).
7.75 in. (W) by 12.5 in. (H).
Contains "Notes" by Fred W. Fickett, B.S., Pvt. Sig.
Corps U.S.A. The first entry is for Jan. 16, 1885, and the last
is for Apr. 12, 1885. They are in a very neat handwriting and
were apparently written after the expedition's return.
6. Notes; Jan. - Feb., 1885.
2 pages (and 2 blank pages). 13 in. (W) by 10 in. (H).
Contains entries concerning trip from Portland to Sitka; 1885
for Jan. 28 - 31, Feb. 3, 7, and 24.
7. Notes (Expedition - Meteorological);
1885. 8 pages (and 6 blank pages). 7.75 in. (W) by 12.5 in. (H).
Contains observations on weather. There are detailed barometer,
thermometer, and other entries between May 8 and June 27. They
end after one instrument was lost and another was stolen. Brief
general remarks accompany some entries.
8. Notebook (Accounts); 1890
- 1891. 52 pages (and 4 blank pages).
3.75 in. (W) by 6 in. (H).
Contains daily entries for household food purchases.
9. Speech (Alaska); ca. 1912.
10 pages. 8.5 in. (W) by 13 in. (H).
Contains discussion of Alaska, including its history, people,
customs, and the various religious groups; mentions Father Mitropolski,
Sheldon Jackson, Rev. Falconer, and John Brady. The date given
for this document is approximate; it is based on a quote from
a publication dated 1912.
III. EDUCATION, LEGAL, AND MISCELLANEOUS PAPERS
1. Agreement ("Freedom");
Feb. 8, 1877. 1 page.
By this document, Fred W. Fickett's father frees him to transact
business in his minority and promises not to demand any of his
earnings nor to be responsible for his debts. It was signed in
Etna, Maine, and witnessed by L. F. Starkie.
2. Diploma (Bachelor of Science; Maine State College); June 30, 1880. 1 page.
3. Commencement Program (Maine
State College); June 30, 1880. 3 pages. Copy
obtained from the University of Maine at Orono.
On page 3, F. W. Fickett is listed as speaking on "Science
and Literature."
4. Class Day Program (Maine
State College); July 1, 1880. 4 pages.
This program lists the fourteen members of the class. F. W. Fickett
delivered the Oration and F. A. Mansfield delivered the Valedictory.
5. Teacher's Certificate (State
of Maine); Nov. 22, 1880. 1 page.
States that F. W. Fickett of Etna, Maine, is authorized to teach
in the Winter School, District No. 11 in Corinna, Maine.
6. Teacher's School Register
(State of Maine); Nov. and Dec., 1881.
Lists students names, ages, and attendance (?) for school held
in Levant Village, Maine; list includes Nellie Lord.
7. Merit Roll (East Main Conference
Seminary); Fall Term, 1883.
Provides standing in class of Miss Nellie T. Lord; it is signed
by M. W. Prince, Principal.
8. Marriage Certificate; Sept.
12, 1886. 2 pages.
The marriage between Fred W. Fickett and Nellie T. Lord took
place in Carmel, Maine.
9. Wedding Announcement and
Newspaper Clipping; n.d. 2 items.
Announces the marriage of Fred W. Fickett and Nellie Lord in
Carmel, Maine, on Sept. 12, 1886.
10. License to Practice Law in Texas; District Court, Galveston County, State of Texas; May 14, 1887. 1 page.
11. Diploma (Master of Science;
Maine State College); June 29, 1887. 1 page.
This is an honorary degree.
12. Commencement Program (Maine
State College); June 29, 1887. 3 pages Copy obtained from the
University of Maine at Orono.
This program identifies F. W. Fickett of Galveston, Texas, as
receiving a Master's Degree and delivering an oration entitled,
"Alaska." He was excused from speaking.
13. Master's Degree Paper,
"Alaska" (Maine State College); 1887. 32 pages. Copy
obtained from the University of Maine at Orono.
Discusses the expedition, Alaskan history, geography, people,
resources, and climate.
14. Master's Degree Paper (draft): "Alaska" (Maine State College); 1887. 34 pages (plus 7 pages of additional notes).
15. License to Practice Before U.S. District Court; Eastern District of Texas, Fifth Circuit; Oct. 30, 1894. 1 page.
16. License to Practice Before U.S. Circuit Court; Eastern District of Texas, Fifth Circuit; Oct. 30, 1894. 1 page.
17. Wells, Fargo & Co.'s
Express Receipt; Jan. 14, 1885. 1 page.
Receipt for shipment of a box from F. W. Fickett in Portland,,
Oregon, to Miss N. Lord in Levant, Maine.
18. Appointment as U. S. Commissioner for the Eastern District of Texas; July 5, 1897. 1 page.
IV. MILITARY AND PENSION PAPERS AND REPORTS
A. ENLISTMENT AND PROMOTION RECORDS
1. Oath of Enlistment and Allegiance (Wash., DC) of F. W. Fickett; Jan. 5, 1882. 2 pages. Copied from National Archives.
2. Re-enlistment (San Antonio, TX) by F. W. Fickett; Jan. 5, 1887. 2 pages. Copied from National Archives.
3. Register of Enlistments;
1887. 2 pages.
Copied from National Archives. Indicates that Fred W. Fickett
enlisted in Sari Antonio, Texas, and was discharged on June 16,
1890, in Galveston, Texas.
4. Appointment to Corporal;
July 21, 1888. 1 page.
Fred W. Fickett is appointed Corporal in the Signal Corps. It
is signed by A. W. Greely, Chief Signal Officer.
IV B. PAPERS
1. W. B. Hazen, Brig. and
Bvt. Maj. Gen., Chief Signal Officer (Wash., DC) to F. W. Fickett
(Etna, ME); July 7, 1881. 3 pages (copy) with 4 page printed
enclosure.
Encloses a circular which answers his questions on entrance to
the Signal Corps. Discusses exams, final examinations, and course
of study at Fort Myer; there are no current vacancies. Describes
the course of study at Fort Myer as well as pay and advancement.
1a. Addition (to note) of original letter. 3 pages.
2. W. B. Hazen, Brig. and
Bvt. Maj. Gen., Chief Signal Officer (Wash., DC) to Members of
the Mutual Benefit Association Signal Corps, U.S. Army and Members
of the Signal Corps; Feb. 10, 1882. 3 pages.
Contains three communications concerning the association and
its operation.
3. General Orders No. 44.
Louis V. Caziarc, 1st Lt., Acting Signal Officer (Wash., DC)
to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (n.p.); July 1, 1882. 1 page.
Private 2nd Class Fred W. Fickett is promoted to Private 1st
Class.
4. Special Orders No. 79.
W. B. Hazen, Brig. and Bvt. Maj. Gen., Chief Signal Officer (Wash.,
DC) signed by Lt. Louis V. Caziarc, 1st Lt., Acting Signal Officer,
to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (n.p.); July 27, 1882. 1 page.
Orders Pvt. Fickett to report to the Chief Signal Officer for
temporary duty in his office.
5. Special Orders No. 182.
R. C. Drum, Adjutant General signed by C. W. Benjamin, Asst.
Adj. Gen. (Headquarters of the Army, Adj. Gen.'s Office, Wash.,
DC) to Pvt. F. W. Fickett; Aug. 7, 1882. 1 page.
Orders Pvt. 1st Class, F. W. Fickett to Sitka, Alaska, and to
relieve Sgt. John J. McLean in charge of station.
6. Louis V. Caziarc, 1st Lt.,
Acting Signal Officer (War Dept., Wash., DC) Signal Corps, U.S.
Army; to Pvt. F. W. Fickett; Aug. 7, 1882. 1 page.
Refers to order #182. Directs him to receive from Sgt. John J.
McLean of the Signal Office all records, instruments, and instructions
belonging to the station at Sitka, Alaska.
7. Final Report of Signal
Service Property at Sitka, Alaska Territory; Sept. 16, 1882.
6 pages.
This report was made by Sgt. John J. McLean for his successor,
Pvt. F. W. Fickett, it includes a receipt signed by F. W. Fickett.
8. Capt. S. M. Mills, Signal
Service (Wash., DC) to F. W. Fickett (Sitka, AK); June 18, 1883.
4 pages.
Orders him to report certain instruments which are not mentioned
in his reports. Document includes endorsements of June 18, Aug.
15 and 19, and Oct. 3, 6, and 10, which authorize the adding
and dropping of other pieces of equipment.
9. Pvt. F. W. Fickett (Sitka,
AK) to Chief Signal Officer of the Army (Wash., DC); Oct. 9,
1883. 3 pages.
Discusses payment of a check to Pacific Coast Steamship Co. in
1881, to Mr. McFarland for shipping. Includes endorsements of
Oct. 9, Nov. 4, Dec. 5 and 11, 1883.
10. S. M. Mills, Capt. (War
Dept., Wash., DC) to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (Sitka, AK); Oct. 16,
1883. 1 page.
Transmits thanks as Chief Signal Officer for $1.25 toward the
purchase of a portrait of Gen. A. J. Myer, late Chief Signal
Officer.
11. Special Orders No. 27.
Louis V. Cazairc, Lt., Acting Signal Officer (War Dept., Wash.,
DC) to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (Sitka, AK); Mar. 5, 1884. 1 page.
Directs Sgt. John J. McLean to proceed from North Platte, Nebraska,
to Sitka and relieve Pvt. Fickett, in charge of station. Upon
being relieved Pvt. Fickett will report to Sgt. McLean for duty
as assistant.
12. S. W. Mills, Capt., Signal
Service (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (Sitka,
AK); Mar. 10, 1884. 1 page.
Orders him to turn over government property to successor upon
being relieved.
13.Final report of Signal
Service property at Sitka, Alaska, made by F. W. Fickett: 2nd
Quarter 1884. Receipt is signed by John J. McLean; Apr. 21, 1884.
12 pages.
Lists property in the office under the charge of Pvt. F. W. Fickett.
14. F. Ward, 1st. Lt., Acting
Signal Officer (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (Sitka,
AK) through Sgt. McLean. Apr. 22, 1884. 1 page.
Thanks him for his letter of Jan. 29 suggesting explorations
of certain parts of Alaska, but they cannot be carried out for
lack of money.
15. Sevellon A. Brown, Chief
Clerk (State Dept., Wash., DC) to F. W. Fickett (Sitka, AK);
July 9, 1884. 2 pages.
Answers his letter of June 9 concerning purchase of the laws
of the United States and lists the cost of approximately 20 publications.
16. S. W. Mills, 1st Lt.,
Property and Disbursing Officer, Signal Service (Wash., DC) to
Pvt. F. W. Fickett (St. Michael, AK, via San Francisco, CA);
Jan. 11, 1883 and Oct. 17, 1884. 2 pages.
Encloses various checks drawn on Fickett's signature and also
for extra duty pay, fuel, quarters, and rations for Sept., Oct.,
and Nov. of 1882. Includes receipt signed by Fickett on Oct.
17, 1884.
17. Special Orders No. 187.
H. Clay Wood, Asst. Adj. Gen., signed by E. J. McClernand, Aide
de Camp (Dept. of the Columbia, Vancouver Barracks, Wash. Ter.)
to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Nov. 2, 1885. 1 page.
Directs Pvt. Fickett to proceed to Portland, Oregon, on public
business.
18. Special Orders No. 194.
H. Clay Wood, Asst. Adj. Gen. (Dept. of the Columbia, Vancouver
Barracks, Wash. Ter.) to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Nov. 13,
1885. 1 page.
Directs Pvt. Fickett to proceed to Portland, Oregon, and report
for duty at the Signal Station there.
19. Special Orders No. 50.
R. C. Drum, Adj. Gen. signed by W. I. Volkman, Asst. Adj. Gen.
(Wash., DC) to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (Portland, OR) through Chief
Signal Officer; Mar. 2, 1886. 1 page.
Pvt. Fickett is directed to proceed to Washington, D.C., and
report to the Chief Signal Officer of the Army.
20. Special Orders No. 54.
B. M. Purssell, 2nd Lt., Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash, DC) to
Pvt. F. W. Fickett (n.p.); June 7, 1886. 1 page.
Directs Pvt. Fickett to proceed from Washington, DC, to Eastport,
Maine, and report for duty as assistant to Sgt. Daniel C. Murphy.
21. Special Orders No. 91
Extract. James Mitchell, 2nd Lt., Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash.,
DC) to Pvt. F. W. Fickett; Sept. 4, 1886. 1 page.
Directs Pvt. Fickett at Eastport, Maine, to report to Galveston,
Texas.
22. Signed by James S. _______
, 2nd Lt., Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Pvt. F. W.
Fickett (Eastport, ME) through observer in charge. Sept. 6, 1886.
1 page.
States that he will be transferred to duty as assistant in Galveston
and instructs him to move promptly.
23. J. M. Mitchell, 2nd Lt.,
Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Pvt. F. W. Fickett. (Eastport,
ME) through officer in charge of station; Sept. 10, 1886. 1 page.
Replies to his telegram of Sept. 9 and denies his request for
a week's delay in Bangor, Maine.
24. J. M. Mitchell, 2nd Lt.,
Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (Galveston,
TX) through Pvt. E. E. Chase; Nov. 26, 1886. 1 page.
Inquires whether he desires to re-enlist at the expiration of
his term of service.
25. Pvt. F. W. Fickett (Galveston,
TX) through Pvt. E. D. Chase to Chief Signal Officer of the Army
(Wash., DC); Mar. 2, 1887. 2 pages.
Acknowledges receipt of his letter of Jan. 31, 1887. He acknowledges
receipt of their letter directing him to note the Alaskan Expedition
on his discharge. He encloses his discharge as directed. The
second page contains endorsements of (Mar. 2) Pvt. E. D. Chase
and endorsement from the Signal Office signed by J. M. Mitchell.
26. Special Orders No. 26.
James Mitchell, 2nd Lt., Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC)
to Pvt. F. W. Fickett (Galveston, TX); Apr. 15, 1888. 2 pages.
Directs Fickett to proceed from Galveston to Columbia and other
places to carry out special instructions, after which he is to
return to Galveston to resume his duties. Includes an attached
printed memorandum concerning transportation and funding.
27. General Orders No. 31.
Robert Craig, 1st Lt., Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to
Cpl. F. W. Fickett (n.p.); July 23, 1888. 2 pages.
Promotes Private 1st Class F. W. Fickett to Corporal as of July
21, 1888. Contains outline of his service.
28. Robert Craig, 1st Lt.,
Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Cpl. F. W. Fickett (Galveston,
TX) through the station's officer; July 24, 1888. 1 page.
Informs him that he has been promoted because of his service
in Alaska. Instructor's report in 1886 showed that he was ignorant
of certain station duties; states that in order to reach grade
of sergeant he must thoroughly post himself on the duties of
observer.
29. Special Order No. 71.
Robert Craig, 1st Lt., Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to
Cpl. F. W. Fickett (Galveston, TX); July 30, 1888. 1 page.
Directs that Sgt. Allen Buell to go to New Orleans for re-enlistment
and directs Cpl. Fickett to assume temporary charge of the station
at Galveston.
30. Special Orders No. 83.
James Mitchell, 2nd Lt., Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC)
to Cpl. F. W. Fickett (Galveston, TX); Sept. 14, 1888. 1 page.
Relieves Fickett of duty at Galveston and directs him to proceed
to Yankton, Dakota, and assume charge of the station and records
there.
31. Special Orders No. 85.
James Mitchell, 2nd Lt., Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC)
to Cpl. F. W. Fickett (Galveston, TX); Sept. 19, 1888. 1 page.
Revokes Special Orders No. 83 relative to Cpl. Fickett.
32. James Mitchell, 2nd Lt.,
Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Cpl. F. W. Fickett (Galveston,
TX) through observer in charge; Oct. 6, 1888. 1 page.
His inquiry concerning promotion to sergeant has been considered,
but since he may be leaving the service, they decided riot to
do so because that would have necessitated a transfer.
33. Circular No. 2. R. E.
Thompson, 1st Lt., Signal Service (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Cpl.
F. W. Fickett (Galveston, TX); Nov. 1, 1888. 1 page.
Transmits table identifying Signal Corps enlisted men.
34. Special Orders No. 22.
James Allen, Captain (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Cpl. F. W. Fickett
(Galveston, TX); Mar. 16, 1889. 2 pages.
Directs Cpl. Fickett to assume temporary charge of that station
from Sgt. Buell. Directs Buell, after preparing station inventory,
to proceed to Abilene and assume command of that station. Directs
Sgt. Isaac M. Cline to proceed from Abilene to Galveston and
assume that station; at which time Cpl. Fickett will report as
assistant to Sgt. Cline.
35. A. W. Greely, Chief Signal
Officer (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Mr. S. O. Young, Director of
the Texas State Weather Service (Galveston, TX); Apr. 1, 1889.
2 pages.
Received his letter of Mar. 27, concerning Pvt. Buell and his
record with the Corps. All consideration has been given to Cpl.
Fickett; his orders from Galveston had been rescinded to permit
its retention there in a subordinate capacity since he was acquiring
a practice and standing in the community.
36. James Mitchell, 2nd Lt.,
Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Cpl. F. W. Fickett (Galveston,
TX) through observer in charge; May 13, 1890. 2 pages.
Replies to his request of May 10 for one month's leave of absence
and states that it is impractical to grant it. Discusses reasons.
Endorsement on reverse states that it is transmitted to Cpl.
Fickett through Sgt. Cline.
37. Special Orders No. 67.
A. W. Greely, Chief Signal Officer signed by James Mitchell,
2nd Lt., Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Cpl. F. W. Fickett
(n.p.); May 20, 1890. 1 page.
Orders Cpl. Fickett to proceed from Galveston to Toledo, Ohio,
and assume temporary charge of that station until the return
of Sgt. W. Bell, after which he will report as assistant to Sgt.
Bell.
38. James Mitchell, 2nd Lt.,
Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Cpl. F. W. Fickett (Galveston,
TX) through observer in charge; May 22, 1890. 2 pages.
Replies to his request of May 17 for a 30 day leave of absence;
it is possible for a short leave granted before his transfer.
Endorsement on reverse states that it is transmitted to Cpl.
Fickett through Sgt. Cline.
39. Special Orders No. 72.
A. W. Greely, Chief Signal Officer signed by James Mitchell,
2nd Lt., Signal Corps (War Dept., Wash., DC) to Cpl. F. W. Fickett
(n.p); June 5, 1890. 1 page.
Revokes the part of Special Orders No. 67 concerning Cpl. Fickett.
40. James Allen, Captain (War
Dept., Wash., DC) to Cpl. F. W. Fickett (Galveston, TX) through
Sgt. A. M. Cline; June 12, 1890. 1 page.
Outlines procedures for discharge and the settlement of accounts.
IV C. REPORTS
1. Allen, Lt. Henry T., "Report
of an Expedition of the Copper, Tanana, and Koyukuk Rivers in
the Territory of Alaska in the year 1885 ....;" n.d. 225
pages.
This is a typescript draft of Allen's published report which
contains some handwritten corrections. This draft corresponds
to Parts I-III, V-VI of the published report though there are
textual differences. The ink is blue and much of it is faded.
2. Allen, Lt. Henry T., Report
of an Expedition to the Copper, Tanana, and Koyukuk Rivers of
the Territory of Alaska in the Year 1885... (Washington, 1887).
172 pages and maps.
Note: not reproduced on microfiche.
IV D. PENSION PAPERS
1. Pension Certificate (of
Fred W. Fickett; No. 1017755 (Reissue); June 18, 1912. 2 pages.
Reissue of pension issued on Mar. 21, 1898 for "Disease
of mouth result of scurvy;" made on Jan. 11, 1901.
2. Senate Bill 4137 (71st
Congress, 2nd Session); Apr. 8, 1930. 1 page.
Seeks a pension of 30 dollars per month for Nellie Lord, widow
of Fred W. Fickett.
3. Senate Calendar No. 701
(71st Congress, 2nd Session); May 30, 1930. 62 pages.
Describes the military service of Fred W. Fickett and the situation
of his widow; recommends pension of 30 dollars per month (page
47). Note: only sections concerning Fickett have been reproduced
on microfiche.
V. U.S. WEATHER BUREAU PAPERS
1. Mark W. Harrington (Chief
of U.S. Weather Bureau, Dept. of Agriculture, Wash., DC) to W.
H. Crain (Cuero, TX); July 14, 1891. 1 page.
Refers to Crain's letter recommending the appointment of Fickett
as observer in charge at Galveston. States that there is no vacancy
at that post.
2. Appointment (Dept. of Agriculture,
Wash., DC) Sept. 17, 1891. 2 pages.
Fred W. Fickett is appointed an Assistant Observer in the Weather
Bureau at a salary of 60 dollars per month.
3. R. M. Laughlin (Weather
Bureau, Dept. of Agriculture, Wash., DC) to F. W. Fickett (Galveston,
TX); Mar. 11, 1892. 2 pages.
Received his letter announcing his appointment as Judge of the
City Court of Galveston and resigning; his resignation is accepted
and he is granted one month leave of absence.