IX. ARTIFACTS
1. Pipe; 1883. 3 in. (H -
bowl) by 17 in. (L - curve).
This pipe is made of wood and has a raised metal bowl; it is
wrapped in a strip of leather. It bears the following inscription:
"Alaska. Old Woman's Pipe. Purchase price one sewing needle.
Pvt. Fred W. Fickett, U.S.S.C., 1883. Small Bag - Tobacco, Large
Bag - Native Weed."
2. Silk Handkerchief; 1883.
20 in. (H) by 20 in. (W).
This handkerchief was given to F. W. Fickett by Nellie Lord.
He carried it with him on the Allen Expedition in 1885. It was
used as a flag on part of the journey. A note about the handkerchief,
written by Nellie Fickett and dated Feb. 27, 1948, is included.
3. Jar of Matches; 1885. 5
in. (H) by 2.25 in. (W).
This is a jar apparently sealed with wax which contains several
packets of matches wrapped in oiled paper. It was carried by
Fred W. Fickett on the Allen Expedition in 1885.
4. Athabascan Jacket; 1885.
25 in. (H) by 23 in. (W - shoulders).
This jacket is apparently made from moose hide and is trimmed
with leather strips and extensive bead work. This is the jacket
Fickett is wearing in the photograph in Section VIII, B, 3.
5. Pressed Mounted Botanical Specimens; 1885. 5.75 in. (H) by 7.75 in (W).
X. FICKETT AND LORD FAMILY GENEALOGY PAPERS
1. Fickett Family Genealogy;
n.d., 1973. 4 items (includes 2 letters from Harold to Wildon
and Mary dated July 14 and Nov. 12, 1973, and one note).
These papers and letters trace the Fickett family to the seventeenth
and eighteenth centuries in New England.
2. Harold and Judy Fickett
to My Dear Mary; May 4, 1976. 2 pages.
Contains family history. Discusses his fathers interests in oil,
stocks, copper mining, and a mining journal.
3. Ruth T. Fickett to Loved
Ones and Friends; Oct. 5, 1977. 4 pages and 1 page enclosure.
Contains family history and notes of trip, "Our Trip to
Maine;" enclosure is excerpt from F.W.Fickett's diary.
4. Ruth T. Fickett.: "A
Short Sketch of the Later Life of Fred W. Fickett, Sr.;"
1989. 7 pages.
Discusses Fred Fickett' activities, the children and family activities.
5. Biographical Sketch of
Judge Fred W. Fickett; n.d.
Incomplete sketch with photograph identifying Fickett as Recorder.
Possibly from "Men of Achievement."
6. "Dad Fickett in Alaska"
by F. W. Fickett, Jr.; n.d. 5 pages (with enclodures).
Primarily discusses his father's release by his father, Perez
Fickett; Fred Fickett's activities in Alaska; and Henry Allen.
Attached are a copy of the release and the title page of Allen's
report.
7. Aloha from the Ficketts
"Dad" and "Mom" (note card with photo on
cover); n.d.
Includes note by Ruth Fickett on Harold Fickett.
1. Bradford H. Lord Obituary
(copy); 1875.
He died on March 14, 1875, in Levant, Maine.
2. Excerpts from the Diary of Nellie Tibbits Lord Fickett; 1895-1904. 2 pages.
3. Correspondence of Nellie
Tibbetts Lord Fickett; n.d., 1939, 1944. 6 items.
Four letters are Mrs. Louise Lord Howe; one letter is from a
Mr. S. C. Webster (?) of the New York Genealogical and Bibliographical
Society.
4. The Lord Family - Addresses of Living Members; 1982. 4 pages.
5. Tibbetts Family Genealogy
and Obituaries. 7 items (5 pages).
These papers trace the family to the early 1800s. Also there
are newspaper clippings relating to the deaths of Stephen W.
Tibbetts (1895), Lucy M. Tibbetts (1908), and Bertha Tibbetts
(1908).
6. Charles Lord (Miami, FL)
to the Ficketts and Howes, plus children and grandchildren; Sept.
1, 1979. 2 pages.
This summary primarily deals with the Lord family.
1. "Addresses of Family
Members." 1989. 5 pages.
The list includes both Fickett and Lord family members.
SERIES XI. RELATED PAPERS
Related papers; 1883-1906.
.4 cu. ft.
This series contains papers copied from other collections relating
to Fred Fickett, Sitka in the 1880s, the 1885 expedition, writing
the expedition report, and members of the expedition.
1. Henry T. Allen. Papers; 1884-1886. [Also see the Henry T. Allen Collection.]
1. Journal/Letter book; 1883-1885. Relates Allen's 1884 trip to Alaska, meeting with Fickett, and plans; also includes copies of letters and orders. L.C.
2. Letters; 1884-1885. Includes three letters to Dora and two letters from Gen. Miles. L.C.
3. Article (draft) "Alaska" for The Military Engineer; ca. 1885. L.C.
4. Expedition Journal #1; Jan. 27 - July 27, 1885. Note: the entries are in reverse order. 2 copies. L.C.
5. Expedition Journal #2; July 28 - September 17, 1885. 2 copies. L.C.
6. Journal (return from Ft. St. Michael); September 20 - December 7, 1885. The entries are sparse. 2 copies. L.C.
7. Adjutant General's Office, File 127 AGO 1885 (Reel 331); 1884-1885. U.S. Nat. Arch.
8. Adjutant General's Office, File 1790 AGO 1886 (Reel 443); 1886. U.S. Nat. Arch.
2. F. W. Fickett. Papers; 1882-1886.
1. U.S. Army. Signal Corps. Correspondence and Orders; 1882-1886. U.S. Nat. Arch.
2. U.S. Army. Adjutant General's Office. Summaries of Endorsement and Correspondence; 1886, 1928. U.S. Nat. Arch..
3. Michael Healy. Papers; 1884-1885. [Also see the Michael Healy Collection.]
1. Correspondence and Reports; 1885. U.S. Revenue Marine. U.S. Nat. Arch.
2. Report of the Cruise of the Revenue Marine Steamer Corwin...1884 (1889). UAA Lib.
3. Report of the Cruise of the Revenue Marine Steamer Corwin...1885 (1887). UAA Lib.
4. Patrick F. Healy, S.J. Journal; 1884. [Also see the Patrick F. Healy Collection.]
1. Journal (extract); 1884. Holy Cross College.
5. Cady Robertson. Papers; 1865-1903.
1. Military Service Record; 1865-1903. U.S. Nat. Arch.
6. U.S. Weather Bureau. Records; 1882-1887.
1. Correspondence (F. W. Fickett); 1882-1886. U.S. Nat. Arch.
2. Abstracts of Daily Journals - Sitka - Vol. I; 1882-1883. U. S. Nat. Arch.
3. Abstracts of Daily Journals - Sitka - Vol. II; 1884-1887. U. S. Nat. Arch.
SERIES XII. FICKETT COLLECTION COPIES.
1. F.W. Fickett Collection.
Microfiche Collection (entire collection to 1886).
This series contains two microfiche copies that contain most
of the papers in the Fickett collection.
2. F. W. Fickett Collection.
Fickett Diary and Journals.
These electrostatic copies were created to aid researchers working
on various projects and reduce the handling of the original original
collection. Included are copies of::

