[Return to Table of Contents.]
A basic goal in the operation of any historical manuscripts repository is the acquisition and preservation of collections which have research value to scholars. Each collection is unique in some aspect. Occasionally a body of papers are accessioned which stand out in a department's holdings. These papers may be significant because they concern an important person, family, event, time, or movement; they may provide unusual insight into an era. The Fred Wildon Fickett Collection holds such a place in the Archives & Special Collections Department of the University of Alaska, Anchorage.
At first consideration, the Fickett Collection is a body of papers concerning the military career of a soldier who spent a few years in Alaska. On closer examination, the researcher will find much more of value. For a private soldier, Fickett was a well-educated man which probably accounts for his having associations beyond his military rank. While not always in great detail, he did record his activities and observations. His writings provide us with insight into Army life and, interestingly, views on the social life in Sitka in the mid-1880's. Just as useful are the papers concerning the Allen Expedition led by Henry Allen in 1885, and the writing of the expedition report. Further, the papers provide personal perspective into Fickett and his fiancé, Nellie Tibbetts Lord, and the times in which they lived.
This microfiche publication of the Fred Wildon Fickett Collection is produced in order to make the papers readily available to researchers in Alaska and in other parts of the country. The organization of this collection was accomplished by the UAA Archivist, who also wrote the guide to the collection. The microfiche work was performed by Chris Sivertsen of the Arctic Environmental Information and Data Center. Funding for this project was provided by a State of Alaska Library Assistance Grant awarded in 1984.
The Archives & Manuscripts Department of the University of Alaska, Anchorage, is very grateful for the support given to this project by all concerned. It has enabled this institution to share a very valuable historical documentary resource with other institutions in Alaska and in other states during the centennial year of the Allen Expedition. This sharing of resources whenever feasible and possible, will continue to be a function of this department and institution.