PUBLISHED GUIDES
This section contains two types of archival research guides: 1) modified versions of the previously published collection guides issued by the UAA Archives and Special Collections Department and 2) guides which are being initially produced in electronic format on this site. They are placed on this site as part of the ongoing effort of the UAA Archives and Special Collections Department staff to make the department holdings available broadly.
Guides have been written and published for the more unique collections acquired by this archival program. The Harris collection, which concerns early Juneau and an early gold rush, was the first important acquisition for the UAA archives. The Fickett collection also concerns early American Alaska and relates to Lt. Henry T. Allen's very significant exploration of the Alaskan interior in 1885. The Vic Rivers collection contains the papers of a civil engineer and political figure. Each of these manuscript groups contains highly interesting materials which, in the view of the archives staff, necessitated more significant treatment. Thus, a guide was published and distributed to libraries and to researchers in Alaska and elsewhere. As a further aid to researchers, these guides include a calendar of the correspondence (an archival finding aid which presents a brief description of the contents of documents).
Future guides issued by this department will be produced either initially on the internet or simultaneously in paper form along with the internet edition. These will include guides to the Benjamim B. Talley Collection as well as to the William Laughlin Collection.
This section is a work in progress. Additions may be made to existing collections and new collections of unusual and/or significant historical value may be acquired. These may be published on the internet and/or in paper format.
NOTE: When visiting this portion, or any other part, of the archives website, it is advisable to reload the page.
GUIDES:
Guide to the Family Papers of Richard Tighe Harris, Co-founder of Juneau, Alaska (Published in 1981)
Guide to the Fred Wildon Fickett Collection (Published in 1985)
Guide to the Victor C. Rivers Family Collection (Published in 1986)
[Note: Because the guides to these collections are rather long, they have been added in parts. In order to enhance access to the folder lists, items lists, and or documents, the guides have been subdivided by series. Click on the title of the series, or series part to view the list of the series contents. To return to the series description, click on the title of the list. Additional links have been added to aid the viewers return to the the archives home page, the collection description, or to this page.]
Last updated December 12, 2001.