VI. CORRESPONDENCE
IV B. LETTERS FROM NELLIE TIBBETTS LORD FICKETT
l. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (Portland, OR); Dec. 14, 1884. 8 pages.
Writes about teaching a private school in Will Fernald's home.
Discusses his becoming a Christian. Writes about acquaintances,
her birthday, Miss Matthews's letter, and Alaskan scenery.
2. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Oct. 31, 1885. 6 pages. Included additions
of Nov. 4 and 6.
Regrets his not receiving her letter at St. Michael. Appreciates
the presents. Discusses his father; relatives and friends, their
separation, and their relationship. She is sorrowed by his suffering.
3. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Nov. 8, 1885. 7 pages. Includes addition
of Nov. 19.
Writes of his parents's visit. Discusses their engagement and
future, photographs, and various relatives and friends.
4. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Nov. 25, 1885. 10 pages. Includes additions
of Nov. 26, 27, and 30.
Writes about various friends, relatives, and local developments.
Discusses music and religion. Writes about relatives, his becoming
a Christian, her handkerchief which he used as a flag on the
trip, and Gen. Hazen.
5. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Dec. 5, 1885. 8 pages. Includes addition
of Dec. 6.
Discusses the letter she sent him at Ft. St. Michael. Writes
about a trip, school, her birthday, and a religious meeting.
6. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. 14. Fickett (n.p.); Dec. 7, 1885. 2 pages.
Writes about school.
7. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Dec. 12, 1885. 10 pages. Includes two additions.
Writes about school and friends and a Sunday meeting. Discusses
their relationship and relatives; describes an encounter with
a young man in July.
8. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Dec. 17, 1885. 4 pages. Includes one addition.
Discusses their relationship, her activities, his term in the
service, and Christianity. Wishes him a Merry Christmas.
9. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Dec. 18, 1885. 10 pages. Includes two additions.
Mentions school course and letters. Discusses the weather, relatives,
pictures, various people, letters, his health, and their future.
10. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Dec. 25, 1885. 8 pages. Includes additions
of Dec. 27 and 29.
Wishes him a Merry Christmas. Describes her activities and presents,
and asks about his plans. Discusses their relationship and her
courses. She doesn't want him to go on another expedition. Wishes
him a Happy New Year.
11. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Dec. 30, 1885. 12 pages. Includes additions
of Jan. 2, 3, and 4.
Discusses their relationship, Lt. Allen, and his report. Writes
about school and studies, his presents, friends and relatives.
Describes a church service and discusses religion and various
people. Received a paper from him.
12. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Jan. 6, 1886. Includes one addition.
Discusses relatives, his re-enlistment and report, school, religion,
various people, and their separation.
13. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Jan. 24, 1886. 4 pages.
Writes about her activities, his next station, school, and various
people.
14. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Jan. 30, 1886. 12 pages. Includes additions
of Feb. 1 and 2. 12 pages.
Describes an aunt's visit and the death of a school girl. Writes
about school, a funeral, work missed, and the weather.
15. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Feb. 4, 1886. 4 pages. No. 2. Includes
addition of Feb. 6.
Mentions candy pull, the weather, illness. Discusses letter writing.
16. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Feb. 8, 1886. 4 pages.
Writes about weather, meetings, school, marriage, and his government
service.
17. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Mar. 7, 1886. 6 pages. No. 10. Includes
addition of Mar. 9.
Mentions a meeting, sending a newspaper to him, and a candy pull.
Describes town meeting. Discusses school and marriage.
18. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Mar. 13, 1886. 8 pages. No. 11. Includes
additions of Mar. 15 and 16.
Writes about her activities and his studies, school, and relatives.
19. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Mar. 26, 1886. 10 pages. No. 13. Includes
additions of Mar. 28 and 31.
Writes about a visit from his parents, the flag (handkerchief)
used on the expedition, and their separation. Discusses Miss
Matthews, religious matters, and various people.
20. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Apr. 5, 1886. 8 pages. No. 14. Includes
addition of Apr. 6.
Writes about church and Sabbath School and sleighing. Discusses
the weather, her teeth, various people, religion, and a scrapbook.
21. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Apr. 8, 1886. 4 pages. No. 15.
Received his letter written at Council Bluff. Hopes he will enjoy
Washington. Discusses the weather and her activities.
22. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Apr. 9, 1886. 6 pages. No. 16. Includes
addition of Apr. 12.
Discusses school, singing, his military service, and reenlistment.
Mentions various friends.
23. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Apr. 13, 1886. 12 pages. No. 17. Includes
additions of Apr. 14, 15, and 17.
Discusses correspondence and mentions a meeting. Discusses their
future location, his legal studies, and their marriage.
24. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Apr. 26, 1886. 12 pages. No. 19. Includes
four additions.
Describes various people and the weather. Discusses school, his
studies, and Sabbath School.
25. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); May 4, 1886. 10 pages. No. 20. Includes
three additions.
Discusses her teaching and her activities. Awaits their meeting.
Discusses country and city life, his college's commencement,
and various people.
26. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); May 13, 1886. 10 pages. Includes three
additions.
Discusses school and teaching. She doesn't want him to go to
Alaska again. Discusses city and country living, his going to
Orono, his parents' visit, and Gen. Hazen.
27. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); May 20, 1886. 6 pages. No. 22. Includes
two additions.
Discusses school, the weather, a meeting in Bangor, and her preferences
as to his future station.
28. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); May 26, 1886. 10 pages. No. 23. Includes
addition of May 28, 30, and 31.
Writes about weather, their, separation, church, various people,
and a visit by his parents.
29. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); June 1, 1886. 6 pages. No. 24. Includes
one addition.
Thanks him for a present. Sent him a box of plums. Writes about
school. Discusses his future location.
30. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); June 10, 1886. 10 pages. No. 25. Includes
four additions.
Discusses their separation, friends, and his location. Mentions
the President's marriage.
31. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); June 16, 1886. 8 pages. No. 26. Includes
three additions.
Writes about her activities. Happy he is in Maine. Discusses
their separation and awaits his visit. Mentions various people.
32. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); June 23, 1886. 4 pages. No. 27.
Looks forward to seeing him. Discusses school.
33. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); July 2, 1886. 10 pages. No. 28. Includes
four additions.
Enjoyed his visit. Discusses her feelings, the weather, and various
relatives and friends.
34. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); July 6, 1886. 8 pages. No. 29. Includes
two additions
Discusses her feelings, the weather, a death, and wedding plans.
35. N. Lord (Brewer, Me) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); July 13, 1886. 8 pages. No. 30. Includes
one addition.
She is having her wedding dress made. Describes reactions to
their plans. Discusses their wedding date, cards, and plans.
36. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); July 18, 1886. 10 pages. No. 31. Includes
two additions.
Describes her activities and feelings and her mother's view of
their marriage. Discusses his travel and various people.
37. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); July 28, 1886. 8 pages. No. 33. Includes
four additions.
Writes about her activities, a trip, her new clothes, and his
travel.
38. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Aug. 7, 1886. 8 pages. No. 34. Includes
one addition.
Discusses their relationship, various friends and relatives,
her activities, and his forthcoming visit.
39. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Aug. 18, 1886. 4 pages.
She's disappointed at his not coming. Discusses plans and rumors;
doesn't want to be married in a hurry.
40. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Aug. 20, 1886. No. 36. 8 pages. Includes
two additions.
Writes about her feelings, friends and relatives, and their plans.
41. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Aug. 26, 1886. 4 pages. No. 37.
She is happy about his news. Discusses his leave and their plans.
42. N. Lord (Levant, ME) to
F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Sept. 2, 1886. 4 pages.
Disappointed at not receiving a letter and at still being separated.
Mentions deaths in the Fernald family.
43. N. Lord Fickett (Levant,
ME) to F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Oct. 21, 1886. 2 pages. No. 6.
Writes about visits and presents.
44. N. Lord Fickett (Levant,
ME) to F. W. Fickett (Galveston, TX); Jan. 31, 1887. 6 pages.
No. 6. Includes four additions.
Writes about their relationship, their future plans, her studies,
and dances at school. Thanks him for the presents.
45. Envelopes; 1882-1887.
10 items.
Stamped and addressed envelopes from letters from N. Lord to
F. W. Fickett.
VI. CORRESPONDENCE
IV C. MISCELLANEOUS FICKETT CORRESPONDENCE
1. C. F. Allen (Maine State
College, Orono, ME) to F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Dec. 7, 1877. 1
page.
He can be admitted to the freshman class if he passes the exam.
Discusses expenses and raising additional money by working on
the farm in summer and by teaching in the winter. He's sending
a catalog.
2. Ivory M. Knowles (Corinna,
ME) to F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Jan. 22, 1882. 2 pages with enclosures.
Acknowledges payment of lodge dues and lists officers. Includes
a receipt for dues for 1881 (dated December 1882) and two cards
for Nellie and Elsie Knowles. The second receipt is for lodge
dues for 1881 to 1884 and is dated August 2, 1884. Note: the
envelope (probably from 1885) indicates the contents are lodge
receipts for 1884.
3. Henry T. Allen (Vancouver
Barracks, Wash. Ter.) to F. W. Fickett (Portland, OR); Jan. 3,
1885. Copy of telegram.
Directs Fickett to meet him at the Holton House.
4. J. P. Curtis (Corinna,
ME) to F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Nov. 18, 1885. 3 pages.
He is happy that Fickett returned safely. Discusses health and
friends.
5. F. A. Mansfield (Camden,
ME) to F. W. Fickett, M.S. (Portland, OR); Nov. 24, 1885. 3 pages.
Received Fickett's letter recounting adventures. Discusses M.S.C.
classmates, his trip to California and the return, and post graduate
study.
6. Merritt C. Fernald (Orono,
ME) to F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Dec. 9, 1885. 1 page. Copy obtained
from the University of Maine at Orono.
Congratulates him on the success of the expedition. He is pleased
that he and the school had something to do with his preparation.
7. Henry T. Allen (Wash.,
DC) to F. W. Fickett (Portland, OR); Jan. 16, 1886. 4 pages.
Received his letter of Jan. 1. Gen. Hazen promised to move Fickett
to Washington if cost would not come from department funds. Discusses
Fickett's promotion, meteorological report, equipment problems
on expedition, and the photographer.
8. Henry T. Allen (Wash.,
DC) to F. W. Fickett (Portland, OR); March 2, 1886. 4 pages.
Hopes Fickett has made progress on his meteorological report
because there will be little time after he arrives. Received
letter from Capt. Healy mess bill. The palms of his hands have
not healed.
9. William A. Rurington (Chicago,
IL) to N. T. Lord (n.p.); Oct. 4, 1886. 1 page.
Received her marriage card and sends his congratulations. Signs
himself as friend and schoolmate.
10. Willis E. Everett, M.D.
(Willamena, OR) to F. W. Fickett, A.M. (Eastport, ME); Aug. 12,
1886.
He has been hunting butterflies. He has been invited to lecture
in the summer and has received another thousand dollars to his
next Alaskan expedition.
11. Richard A. Thornton (Portland,
OR) to F. W. Fickett (Galveston, TX); Dec. 17, 1886. 2 pages.
Discusses law school. Suggests several law books for him to read.
12. Henry T. Allen (St. Petersburg,
Russia) to F. W. Fickett (Galveston, TX); Jan. 17, 1888. 7 pages.
Congratulates Fickett on his success as a lawyer and on his degree.
He is studying German and Russian. Thanks him for the news from
Alaska. Discusses his activities and mentions their report. Wants
Fickett to write often.
13. M. A. Purinton (Levant,
ME) to Mrs. F. W. Fickett (Galveston, TX); Mar. 5, 1890. 8 pages.
Pleased with the baby picture. Discusses illness, births, and
various people.
14. Ambrose C. Flint (Bangor,
ME) to F. W. Fickett and Wife (Galveston, TX); July 29, 1890.
1 page.
This is a "Notice of Second Meeting of Creditors in Insolvency"
to the creditors of Charles W. Fernald. It calls for a meeting
on Aug. 14, 1890.
15. Charles W. Fernald (South
Levant, ME) to F. W. Fickett (n.p.); Aug. 6, 1890. 1 page.
States that a meeting has been called for Aug. 14, to declare
a dividend. Fickett will receive a check for his claim.
16. O. W. Greely, Office of
the Chief Signal Officer (Wash., DC) to F. W. Fickett (Galveston,
TX); Apr. 6, 1892. 1 page.
Congratulates him on appointment as City Recorder.
17. Henry T. Allen (Wash.,
DC) to F. W. Fickett, Jr. (Tucson, AZ); May 10, 1930. 2 pages.
States that their family has a claim on him. Sen. Hayden can
call on him any time.
18. Mrs. M. L. Hearne (n.p.)
to F. W. Fickett (n.p.); n.d. 2 pages.
This is a small card. She wishes him a Merry Christmas and a
Happy New Year.
19. Envelopes; 1883, 1888,
1890, 1905. 6 items.
These include envelopes from the U.S. Signal Service (1), Allen
Buell of Abeline (3), The Lincoln Consolidated Mining Company
(1), and the Law Firm of Denson & Fickett of Galveston (1).
VI. CORRESPONDENCE
IV D. MISCELLANEOUS THIRD PARTY CORRESPONDENCE
1. M. S. Brackett (Harmon,
ME) to Dear Abscent (n.p.); April 3, 1870. 4 pages.
"Abscent" is a relative (niece ?) named Vinnie. She
discusses Vinnie's health, work, and deaths in the area.
2. Bradford Lord (Lynn, MA)
to Mother, Mary L. Brackett, (n.p.) ; March 25, ______. 1 page.
Bradford Lord was the father of Nellie Tibbetts Lord; Mary L.
Brackett was her grandmother.
3. May Carver (Auburn, ME)
to N. T. Lord (Levant, ME); Feb. 25, 1883. 4 pages.
Discusses health and friends; she is grateful for Nellie's help.
4. N. T. L. Fickett (Lincoln,
AZ) to F. W. Fickett, Jr. (n.p.); n.d. 2 pages.
Hopes Fred and his brother are doing well in school; describes
burros and Tucson. Note from F. W. Fickett - asks him to write.
5. Henry T. Allen (Wash.,
DC) to Gen. A. W. Greely (n.p.); Dec. 21, 1926. 3 pages (copy).
This electrostatic copy was a gift to the archives.
Discusses Alaskan trip and urges recognition of that effort by
our geographic society.
VI. CORRESPONDENCE
E. MISCELLANEOUS FAMILY TRANSCRIPTS.
1. Family Transcripts; 1882. These copies were made by a member of the Fickett family. They contain numerous uncorrected errors.
2. Family Transcripts; 1883. These copies were made by a member of
the Fickett family. They contain numerous uncorrected errors.
3. Family Transcripts; 1884. These copies were made by a
member of the Fickett family. They contain numerous uncorrected
errors.
4. Family Transcripts; 1885. These copies were made by a member of the Fickett family. They contain numerous uncorrected errors.
5. Family Transcripts; 1886. These copies were made by a member of
the Fickett family. They contain numerous uncorrected errors.
VII. MISCELLANEOUS PRINTED MATERIAL
1. Scrapbook; 1883-1886. 10
loose pages (including 3 blank pages).
These unbound pages contain 24 clippings concerning Alaskan exploration
and F. W. Fickett.
2. "Lecture Delivered
by Fred W. Fickett." Galveston Daily News; Sunday,
November 6, 1887. 5 pages.
This is a typescript copy of newspaper article on lecture. It
includes sections from Fickett's thesis, his journal, and comments
from General Miles.
3. Congress, A Monthly
Journal Devoted to the Arts of Civilization; (Wash., DC);
Apr. 1888. Vol. I, No. 3. 2 copies.
In article written by Fred W. Fickett, M.S., is on pages 49-51;
it is entitled, "The Copper River Country of Alaska."
Only the title page and the article have been reproduced on microfiche.
4. Handbill; July 25, 1893.
5.25 in. (W) by 9.25 in. (H). 2 copies.
Announces a lecture on Alaska by Judge Fickett.
5. U.S.C. & G.S. General
Chart of Alaska, 1897.
Marking on map shows location of the Fickett River.
6. Clippings; 1904, 1928,
1930, 1967.
The first of the three is a set of pages copied from F. C. Schrader's
A Reconnaissance in Northern Alaska (1904). Throughout
these copies the name "Fickett" has been noted. The
second item is an obituary of F. W. Fickett printed in the Arizona
Daily Star of Feb. 8, 1928 (copy obtained from the Arizona
Historical Society). The third item is a clipping from the Arizona
Daily Star of July 13, 1930, which announces the government
pension for Fickett's widow. The last item consists of extracts
from the Dictionary of Alaska Place Names (1967) on the
sites named after Fred W. Fickett.
7. U.S. Geological Survey.
Map: Cordova (C-3) Quadrangle; 1951.
Map shows the Fickett Glacier near the Copper River.