VIII. PHOTOGRAPHS

Click on images to enlarge.

VIII A. FICKETT FAMILY AND INDIVIDUAL PHOTOGRAPHS

Image from Archives Collection

1. Family Picture; ca. 1858. 3.5 in. (W) by 5.75 in. (H). Copy obtained from the F. W. Fickett Family.
Shows Perez and Rebecca Bean Fickett and F. W. Fickett as a baby.


Image from the Archives Collection

2. F. W. Fickett; ca. 1850s. 1 in. (W) by 1.375 in. (H). Original and copy.
F. W. Fickett as a child. Note: This photograph was not included in the original published guide.


Image from the Archives Collection

3. Graduation Picture of F. 14. Fickett; 1880. 3.5 in. (W) by 5.75 in. (H).
Copy obtained from the F. W. Fickett Family.

4. Graduation Picture of F. 14. Fickett; 1880. 4.25 in. (W) by 5.5. in. (H).
Copy obtained from the University of Maine at Orono.
Same as above.


Image from the Archives Collection

5. Maine State College Class Picture; 1880. 10 in. (W) by 7.25 in. (H).
Copy obtained from the University of Maine at Orono.


Image from the Archives Collection

6. F. W. Fickett in Dress Uniform; 1882. 4.25 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
Picture was taken while at Ft. Myer, Virginia.


Image from the Archives Collection

7. F. W. Fickett by Boat near Sitka; ca. 1883. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
He is carrying a shotgun and has a beard.


Image from the Archives Collection

8. F. W. Fickett; ca. 1884. 4.25 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
He has a moustache and is holding a sextant. Fickett is in uniform and is wearing a pistol and ammunition belt. Note: The family has assigned the photograph an 1881 date; however, it was printed in Portland, Oregon, where he was situated during 1884, 1885, and 1886. One of the latter dates is more appropriate since it does not appear that he had a moustache between 1880 and 1882.

9. F. W. Fickett; ca. 1925. 8 in. (W) by 10 in. (H). Copy obtained from the F. W. Fickett Family.
This picture was taken in Galveston, Texas. This photo is the one which was used on the cover of the guide.


Image from the Archives Collection

10. Fred and Nellie Fickett; ca. 1925. 3.5 in. (W) by 5.75 in. (H). Copy obtained from the F. W. Fickett Family.


VIII B. ALLEN EXPEDITION MEMBERS

Image from the Archives Collection

1. Expedition Members; 1885. 4.25 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
This picture was taken at Fort. St. Michael. This copy is damaged in the upper right-hand corner; notations have been made on both the front and back of the picture.

2. Expedition Members; 1885. 4.25 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
This picture was taken at Fort St. Michael. This copy is a slightly different print of the above photograph. It is cracked across the middle and has a water stain in the middle and upper right side.


Image from the Archives Collection

3. F. W. Fickett; Sept., 1885. 3.5 in. (W) by 5.75 in. (H). Copy obtained from the F. W. Fickett Family. 3 items.
The photograph shows Fickett wearing an Athabascan jacket and mukluks. It was taken in San Francisco in Sept. 1885 after the return of the expedition. Family copy (brown tone, 5 x 7) and copy (5 x 7) added in 1989. Same as artifact photograph No. 4 on page 79.


Image from the Archives Collection

4. Henry T. Allen; Sept., 1885. 5.25. in. (W) by 8.5 in. (H).
The photograph shows Lt. H. T. Allen seated and wearing an Athabascan Chief's jacket. It was taken at the same time and place as the previous picture.


Image from the Archives Collection

5. Henry T. Allen; June 2, 1886. 4.25 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
This is a picture of Allen in civilian clothing. It is signed and dated in Allen's handwriting.


Image from the Archives Collection

6. John Watts McGarland (Formerly Unidentified and then Misidentified as John Garland); n.d. 5.25 in. (W) by 8.5 in. (H).
This is a view of John Watts McGarland, an English tourist who was in St. Michael, Alaska, in 1885. He was not a member of the Allen expedition, however, he and his servant travelled on the Corwin in 1885 along with Allen, Fickett, and Robinson. [This photo is also to be found in the Thomas W. Benham Collection.]


VIII C. RESIDENTS OF SITKA, ALASKA

Image from the Archives Collection

1. Commander J. B. Coghlan, U. S. Navy; ca. Feb., 1884. 5.25 in. (W) by 8.25 in. (H).
Coghlan is shown seated in a chair and holding a banjo.


Image from the Archives Collection

2. Willis E. Everette, M.D.; June 3, 1886. 4.25 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
Note on back gives date.


Image from the Archives Collection

3. Andrew Kashevarov; ca. 1883. 4.25 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
Kashevarov was Fickett's assistant in the Signal Office, Sitka, Alaska.


Image from the Archives Collection

4. Natalia Kashevarov and Mrs. Mitropolski; ca. 1883. 6.5 in. (W) by 4.25 in. (H).
The women are sisters.


Image from the Archives Collection

5. Sgt. John J. McLean; n.d. 4.25 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
The picture is signed on the reverse side.


Image from the Archives Collection

6. John J. McLean and Paymaster Webster; ca. 1884. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
The men are carrying guns and are standing on a bridge. The picture is mentioned in Fickett's letter of Jan. 11, 1885.


Image from the Archives Collection

7. Miss Matthews; ca. 1883. 4.25 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
Miss Matthews was a missionary in Alaska.


Image from the Archives Collection

8. Mr. and Mrs. Mitropolski and children; ca. 1883. 6.5 in. (W) by 4.25 in. (H).


Image from the Archives Collection

9. Dr. and Mrs. Thomas; ca. 1883. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
This picture is somewhat faded; Dr. Thomas is in uniform and holds a pipe and Mrs. Thomas is seated by a piano. This picture has been computer enhanced.

Image from the Archives Collection

10. Dr. Yeamans; Mar. 3, 1884. 4.25 in. (W) by 6.5 in. (H).
The date is obtained from an inscription on the back. Dr. Yeamans was surgeon on the U.S.S. Corwin.


VIII D. SITKA BUILDINGS AND VIEWS

Image from the Archives Collection

1. Government Buildings; ca. 1883. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
Picture shows Customs House, Castle, and Barracks in Sitka. Fickett's office was in the Castle.


Image from the Archives Collection

2. Government Buildings; ca. 1883. 4.5 in. (W) by 6 in. (H).
Picture shows the Customs House, Castle, and Barracks. It bears the inscription "Taken from edge of Indian Valley; Sitka, Alaska." The original picture is very faded. This picture has been computer enhanced.


Image from the Archives Collection

3. "Guard House and Indian Working Party;" ca. 1883. 8.25 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
Picture shows large party of men with a military officer standing by a cannon in front of the barracks/ guard house building. This picture has been computer enhanced.


Image from the Archives Collection

4. "Barracks at Sitka, Alaska;" ca. 1883. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
Picture shows the barracks/guard house building decorated with flags and bunting probably for a Fourth of July celebration.


Image from the Archives Collection

5. Government Building Area; ca. 1883. 8.25 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
Picture shows the government and neighboring buildings in Sitka; it was apparently taken from a hill a short distance away. This picture has been computer enhanced.


Image from the Archives Collection

6. Warship in Sitka Harbor; ca. 1883. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
Picture shows a U.S. ship anchored in the harbor. There is a mountain in the background and the government buildings are on the far right. This picture has been computer enhanced.


Image from the Archives Collection

7. Sitka Waterfront; ca. 1883. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
Picture bears the inscription "Sitka from island in harbor." It shows the government buildings. This picture has been computer enhanced.


Image from the Archives Collection

8. Buildings and Sitka Harbor; ca. 1883. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
Picture is entitled "Sitka Harbor from the Castle." This picture has been computer enhanced.


Image from the Archives Collection

9. Sitka and Waterfront; ca. 1883. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
Picture bears the hand-written title, "Sitka from Castle." In the far right is the Mission House. On the left, the upper part of the Cathedral is visible. The picture is faded.


Image from the Archives Collection

10. "Sitka from top of Castle;" ca. 1883. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
The Cathedral is shown in the center and in the far right is the Mission House. The picture is spotted and damaged. This picture has been computer enhanced.


Image from the Archives Collection

11. Mission House [Presbyterian Industrial Training School]; ca. mid 1880s.
Picture shows two buildings, one finished [the Boys' Home] and one apparently under construction [the Girls' Home]. This picture has been computer enhanced.


Image from the Archives Collection

12. "Indian Valley and Graves, Sitka;"" ca. 1883 (1881). 7 in. (W) by 4.5 in. (H).
This is a stereoview from a set entitled "Scenes in Alaska;" it is No. 6 and was photographed by H. H. Brodeck for the Northwest Trading Co.


Image from the Archives Collection

13. "Main Street, Sitka;" ca. 1883 (1881). 7 in. (W) by 4.5 in. (H).
This is a stereoview from a set entitled, "Scenes in Alaska;" it is No. 30 and was photographed by H. H. Brodeck for the Northwest Trading Co.


Image from the Archives Collection

14. "Sitka Indians Dressed for a Witch Dance;" ca. 1883. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
This picture is of a number of dancers dressed in costume. The original picture is very faded and nearly indiscernable.


VIII E. COPIED ARCTIC REGION PHOTOGRAPHS

Note: Most of the pictures in this section have been computer enhanced.

Image from the Archives Collection

1. "Town of St. Paul Island;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
No. 17 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco.


Image from the Archives Collection

2. "St. Michaels;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
No. 21 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco.


Image from the Archives Collection

3. "Esquimo House, St. Michaels;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
No. 24 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco.


Image from the Archives Collection

4. "Group of Women at Port Clarence;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
No. 45 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco.


Image from the Archives Collection

5. "Drying Fish at Grantley Harbor;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
No. 46 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco.


Image from the Archives Collection

6. "Bidara, Port Clarence;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
No. 50 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco. Should be spelled bidarka.


Image from the Archives Collection

7. "Houses and Natives of East Cape, Siberia;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H)
No. 53 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco.


Image from the Archives Collection

8. "Native Men, East Cape, Siberia;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
No. 55 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco.


Image from the Archives Collection

9. "Natives of Point Barrow;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
No. 65 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco.


Image from the Archives Collection

10. "Esquimo Boots and Shoes and Snow Shoes;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by 5.25 in. (H).
No. 70 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco.


Image from the Archives Collection

11. "Esquimo Dogs and Sledge;" ca. 1885. 8.5 in. (W) by/ 5.25 in (H).
No. 71 of set produced by Taber Photographic Parlors of San Francisco. This is probably a view of Fort St. Michael.


Image from the Archives Collection

12. Group of Six Men Standing in Front of House; ca. 1885. 6.5 in. (W) by 4.25 in. (H).
This was probably taken at Fort St. Michael.


VIII F. FRED W. FICKETT - LATER LIFE

Note: These Photographs were not in the published guide to the Fickett collection; therefore they are not included here at this time.

1. F. W. Fickett Family in Galveston, TX; pre-1912. 5" x 7" b/w copy.
Depicts Fred and Nellie Fickett and children - Wildon, Harold, Webster, and Mary.

2. Fred W. and Nellie Lord Fickett in front of home at 62 Franklin Street in Tucson, Arizona; ca. 1914. 3-1/2" x 5-1/2" b/w original.

3. F. W. Fickett Family in front of home at 62 Franklin Street in Tucson, AZ; ca. 1914. 3-1/4" x 5-1/2" b/w original.
Depicts Fred and Nellie Fickett, Wildon, Harold, Webster, Mary, and Gertrude.

4. Nellie Fickett and relatives in Dumont, Maine; ca. 1917. 5" x 7" b/w copy of 3-1/4" x 5-1/2" original.
Depicts Emma Fickett (aunt - wife of Uncle Will - half-brother of F.W.F.), Stella Bean, Lizzie and Fred Bean (aunt and uncle), Nellie Fickett, Freeman Fickett (Uncle Freem).

5. F. W. Fickett and Freeman Fickett (brother) in front of house at 62 Franklin Street in Tucson, AZ; ca. 1914. 3-1/2" x 5-1/2" b/w original.

6. Nellie Tibbits Lord Fickett, ca. 1948. 4-1/2" x 6-1/4", b/w original and 5" x 7" b/w copy.

VIII G. FICKETT FAMILY PHOTOGRAPHS

Note: These Photographs were not in the published guide to the Fickett collection; therefore they are not included here at this time.

1. Fred Wildon Fickett in his Father's Athabascan Jacket; n.d. 5" x 7" b/w copy.

2. Timothy Mark Fickett (8 yrs. old) in F.W.F.'s Athabascan Jacket; n.d. 5" x 7" b/w copy.

3. Fred Wildon Fickett, Jr., as U.S. Senate Candidate; 1944. Two 5" x 7" b/w copies.

4. The three Fickett Brothers - Harold, Wildon and Webster; ca. 1970. Two 5" x 7" b/w copies.

5. Harold Lord Fickett with Judy Rees (his second wife) of Dallas; 1987. Two 5" x 7" b/w copies.

6. Family Group Picture; ca. 1955. Two 5" x 7" b/w copies.
Back Row: Bill Goodman (Dorothy's husband), Anna Tacquard (mother of Ruth, Dorothy, and Carol), Ruth Fickett, and Fred Fickett. Front Row: Robert C. Fickett (son of Ruth and F. W. Fickett, Jr.), Dorothy Goodman (wife of Bill Goodman), Mother Fickett (Nellie), August Carol Tacquard (brother of Ruth and Dorothy T.).

7. Mary Fickett Howes and Husband, Roger W. Howes with two friends; March, 1970. 3-1/2" x 3-1/2" color original.

8. Mary and Roger Howes on their 45th Anniversary at the First Baptist Church in Tucson, Arizona, with Flora Nell and Mary Ruth; Aug. 1974. 3-1/2" x 5" color original.

9. Fred W. and Ruth Fickett at the Lion's Farm in Florida; 1978.

10. College Graduation Photographs of Harold Lord Fickett, Webster L. Fickett, Fred Wildon Fickett, and Mary Fickett Howes (Framed); n.d. 4 prints and negatives.