RETURN TO COLLECTION DESCRIPTION
GUIDE
to the
VICTOR C.
RIVERS FAMILY
COLLECTION
by
Lelah Powers
Volunteer Processor
Archives &
University of Alaska, Anchorage
Produced with funds
provided by a
State of Alaska Library Assistance Grant
Anchorage, Alaska
1986
Abbreviated Table of Contents
Victor Claudius Rivers - Biographical Sketch
Scope and Content of the Collection
Series Descriptions
[Note: the series Descriptions
are the main access point for the folder and item lists in this
collection.]
VICTOR C. RIVERS FAMILY COLLECTION
INVENTORY
[Note: The Inventory to this collection is limited to the Series Descriptions. However, the folder lists are available in the department.]
SERIES DESCRIPTIONS
SERIES 1. VICTOR CLAUDIUS
RIVERS - PAPERS; n.d., 1915-1971.
BOX 1
Subseries 1-A. Personal Papers; n.d.,
1915-1919, 1937-1960. 13 folders. Arranged
alphabetically by subject except that the personal and work history
is at the begining.
Included are papers on his personal and professional history
as well as membership cards and forms, Iditarod bank drafts,
property descriptions, and a certificate from the Sons of the
American Revolution.
Subseries 1-B. Business and Professional
Papers; n.d., 1939-1971. 14 folders. Arranged alphabetically by the title
of the business and professional society, with miscellaneous
papers at the end of the section.
Contains papers relating to his construction business, engineering-architectural
services, Rivers Construction Company, and various construction
projects including the suggested Turnagain Arm Crossing. There
are papers relating to costs of some projects as well items concerning
several professional societies.
Subseries 1-C. Correspondence; n.d.,
1941-1964. 12 folders. Arranged
chronologically with undated materials at the beginning.
This series contains various pieces of correspondence including
letters of recommendation, Corps of Engineers appointments, and
travel orders.Many letters pertain to World War II matters, the
Alaska State Constitution, statehood, and politics; also, there
are lettersertaining to his engineering business, a possible
Latin American job, and family affairs.
BOX 2
Subseries 1-D. Politics; n.d., 1936-1958. 15 folders.
Arranged in the following
subsections: Alaska (Territorial)
Legislature, Constitutional Convention and Statehood, and the
Campaign for Governor.
The first subseries contains certificates of election for the
Senator for the 3rd and 4th Districts. One other document is
a speech given to support the state wholesaling of liquor. The
Constitutional Convention and Statehood files contain items from
the Alaska Statehood Committee, a convention booklet, the Alaska
Constitution (printed and souvenier copies), a Fairbanks City
Council resolution, a program for the signing of the constitution,
a dinner program, and resolutions from Louisiana and Puerto Rico.
The Governor Campaign files include budget and travel itnerary
and a campaign souvenir brochure. Included at the end are various
types of letterhead statiopnery for the "Alawska Territorial
Senate, President Victor C. Rivers;" the Constitutional
Convention with a list of delegates; and the Alaska Statehood
Committee.
Subseries 1-E. World War II; n.d., 1940-1944.
7 folders. Arranged
chronologically with miscellaneous papers at the end.
The majority of these papers relate to Vic Rivers' association
with the U. S. Corps of Engineers during World War II. They include
American Military Engineer Membership cards, a non-combatant's
card, organization charts for Anchorage and Seattle, and official
passes for traveling the Alaska Railroad. Also, there is a translation
of a Japanese Meddical Officer's diary (Attu); and travel applications
with reports on trips to the Aleutians and other parts of Alaska
and Canada.
Subseries 1-F. Printed Materials; n.d., 1944-1959.
3 folders. Arranged chronologically under the headings:
Business and Professional and Miscellaneous Printed Materials.
Each section is arranged chronologically with undated papers
at the beginning.
These files contain articles by and about Vic Rivers, as well
as an article about the Alaska Board of Engineering joining the
National Council; and miscellaneous articles of personal interest,
World War II, and statehood.
BOX 3
SERIES II. ELLEIGHFARE
'RUSTY" RIVERS - PAPERS; n.d., 1934-1975.
Subseries II-A. Correspondence; n.d.,
1955-1966, 1973-1974. 1 folder. Arranged
chronologically with undated items at the beginning.
This section includes among other things letters concerning recommendations,
invitations to various events, letters of appreciation from Senator
Kennedy and Governor Egan, a selection for a KBYR "Bouquet
of the Day" (1964), as well as others.
Subseries II-B. Personal Papers; n.d.,
1934, 1945-1962, 1975. 4 folders. Arranged
alphabetically by subject, followed by various miscellaneous
papers.
Contains certificates of various memberships, a funeral memorium,
David McCloy achievements, various pictures and articles about
the Martha Berry School, lists of David McCloy achievements,
and a "Diary of Joe Vaughn at the Club."
SERIES III. JULIAN GUY
RIVERS - PAPERS; n.d. 1929.
A. Papers; n.d., 1929. 1 folder.
Contains list of family members and certificate of capital stock
of International Highway Association.
SERIES IV. RALPH RIVERS
- PAPERS; 1941-1966.
Subseries IV-A. Correspondence; 1941-1963.
1 folder.
Contains letters on family and business matters. There is one
letter from Vic Rivers.
Subseries IV-B. Miscellaneous Papers;
1959, 1966. 2 folders.
Contains Ralph Rivers' campaign flyer;and a list of members of
Alaska's first elected government.
SERIES V. VIRGINIA PROFFITT
- PAPERS; 1972.
A. Papers; 1972. 1 folder.
Contains a letter to heirs and relatives of John Cahill.
SERIES VI: RUSSELL GUY
RIVERS - PAPERS; n.d., 1966.
A. Papers; n.d., 1966. 1 folder.
Contains work history, a memo, and one letter.
SERIES VII. RICHARD L.
RIVERS - PAPERS; n.d.
A. Personal Papers; n.d. 1
folder.
Contains work history.
SERIES VIII. FERN RIVERS
- PAPERS; n.d.
A. Personal Papers; n.d. 1
folder.
Contains announcement on return to Anchorage.
SERIES IX. PHOTOGRAPHS; n.d.,
1923-1959
Subseries IX-A. Victor C. Rivers.
BOX 4 (Album 1)
1.
Business and Professional; n.d., 1932-1938, 1949-1957. 124 photographs.
Arranged chronologically with dated and identified items preceding
others.
Contains photographs of various construction projects in Fairbanks
and McKinley National Park; sleds; the Territorial Board of Engineers;
a gold dredge and mill; and various views of Wasilla, Little
Susitna River, Palmer, Matanuska River, and Campbell Creek.
2.
Personal; n.d., 1923, 1935-1959. 77 photographs. Arranged chronologically
with undated items at the end.
Contains pictures of family members, friends, unidentified people,
various towns and rural areas, and animals.
3. Politics;
n.d., 1937, 1949-1958. 14 photographs. Arranged chronologically
with undated items at end.
Contains photographs of Territorial legislature, bill signing
ceremonies, Alaska Constitutional Convention, Alaska Statehood
Committee, and Rivers' official campaign photo.
BOX 5 (Album 2)
4. World
War II; 1943-1944. 103 photographs. Arranged chronologically
with undated following.
Contains pictures of Corps of Engineers equipment; captured Japanese
personnel and equipment; troop transports and men in the Aleutians;
farewell party for B. B. Talley; and various undated and unidentified
construction projects.
5. World
War II Album; 1943. 1 folder.
Contains copy of photograph album.
Subserie IX-B. Ralph Rivers.
1.
Miscellaneous Photographs; 1959-1968. 6 photographs. Photographs
are of Ralph Rivers at the Statehood Celebration, the Democratic
National Convention, and at his desk in Washington, DC.
Subserie IX-C. Virginia Proffitt.
1. Personal;
1973. 3 photographs.
Photographs of Virginia Proffitt.
BOX 6
Subseries IX-D. Negatives - Victor C.
Rivers.
1. Business and Professional;
n.d., 1937-1938. 38 negatives. Arranged chronologically followed
by undated.
Contains negatives of some of the photographs in Series X(A).
2. Personal
and Miscellaneous; n.d. 3 negatives.
One negative each of Victor C. Rivers, an unidentified woman,
and an unidentified child.
BOX 7 (Flat)
Series X. Scrapbooks;
n.d., 1943-1950.
Subseries X-A. Scrapbook No. 1 - Newsclippings; n.d.,
1943-1946. 15 pages.
Arranged chronologically.
Contains articles on the Turnagain Arm Crossing, reopening of
Rivers' private engineering office, his election to President
of Territorial Board of Engineers, statehood issues, as well
as articles on J. G. Rivers, Fern, Keith, and Russell Guy Rivers.
Subseries X-B. Scrapbook No. 2; n.d.,
1945-1950. 45 pages.
Contains sketches by Vic Rivers' firm, Engineer-Architect Service,
and a list of his technical staff; various business cards; articles
on city power feuds and water problems; an article and snapshot
of a Kodiak inspection; items on his work as project engineer
of Chugach Electric and REA; invitation to the inauguration and
festivities for President Truman; poem by Joyce Rivers; and articles
on his senate candidacy and various political issues.
BOX 8
SERIES XI. NEWSCLIPPING
AND PRINTED MATERIALS; n.d., 1936-1976.
Subseries XI-A. Victor C. Rivers -
Personal; n.d., 1945, 1955-1959. 2 folders. Arranged in two parts: a) Personal; and
b) Historical Miscellaneous.
Contains articles on the wedding of Rusty Amason and Vic Rivers,
his illness, and a memorial by the Anchorage City Council; and
articles and pictures of "Good Old Days."
Subseries XI-B. Victor C. Rivers -
Business and Professional; 1944-1955. 3 folders. Arranged alphabetically by subject.
Contains an article about the Chamber of Commerce hiring Vic
Rivers; articles and sketches from Engineer-Architect Service;
the organization of professional engineers; the Rivers Construction
Co.; and a report on the Turnagain Arm Crossing.
Subseries XI-C. Victor C. Rivers - Politics; n.d.,
1936, 1944-1962. 13 folders.
Arranged generally in
chronological order.
Contains various articles on state politics and the Democrats;
on Vic Rivers Senate candidacy and being Senate President; the
Constitutional Convention, national politics, statehood; and
Vic Rivers' campaign for governor.
Subseries XI-D. Elleighfare "Rusty'
Rivers; n.d., 1966, 1975. 1 folder.
Contains articles and pictures of
the Red Cross; her obituaries; a program from a dinner honoring
Ralph Rivers; and a reproduction of a mural by Muriel Hannah
illustrating resources of Alaska.
Subseries XI-E. Ralph Rivers; n.d.,
1955-1976. 1 folder.
Included are clippings on the wedding of Ralph Rivers and Martha
Marie Wendling; a UAA Commencement Program noting an honorary
degree awarded to Ralph Rivers; an article writ- ten by him;
and a program from a dinner honoring Ralph Rivers.
Subseries XI-F. Russell Guy Rivers;
n.d., 1945. 1 folder.
Contains clippings about the Rivers Construction Cornpany and
an article about Captain Rivers on furlough.
Subseries XI-G. Virginia Proffitt;
1968, 1973. 1 folder.
Contains articles about her trip to Korea and being named "Boss
of the Year." Pictures.
Subseries XI-H. Bob Bartlett; n.d.,
1963, 1965. 1 folder.
This file contains clippings on politics, a menu for a meeting
of the Washington State and Alaska State Societies, and programs
honoring Bartlett's service.
SERIES XII. NEWSPAPER SECTIONS; 1943-1960.
BOX 9 (Package)
Subseries XII-A. Newspaper Sections; 1943-1955. 19
newspapers. Arranged chronologically.
Contains various newspapers with articles about World War II
in Alaska; statehood; death of Judge Dimond; an Igloo Convention;
the Constitutional Convention; and photos and stories of early
Alaska.
BOX 10 (Packkage)
Subseries XII-B. Newspaper Sections; 1956-1959. 21
newspapers. Arranged chronologically.
Various newspapers with articles and photos on the Constitutional
Convention, statehood, Rivers family, the campaign for governor,
and Rivers' illness and death.
BOX 11 (Package)
Subseries XII-C. Newspaper Single
Sheets; 1945-1960. 69 items
Contains articles on Vic and Ralph Rivers' candidacies; election
issues and returns; the Constitutional Convention; various political
news; "Rusty" Rivers' recipes; and Vic Rivers' obituary.