Write Bibliographies Using APA, MLA, and Other Style Guides

The following list of citation style guides gives information and examples for writing papers and citing research using the conventions listed. Check the Library Catalog or at the Reference Desk for print copies of these and other style guides.

American Psychological Association [APA] Guides

APA Documentation Style
University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Includes guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources.
APA Formatting and Style Guide
Purdue University
APA Recommended Electronic Reference Formats
American Psychological Association
Includes APA-approved guidelines for citing electronic sources.

Modern Language Association [MLA] Guides

MLA Documentation Style
University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Includes guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Purdue University
MLA Style - Citing electronic Sources
University of Wisconsin- Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Includes guidelines for citing electronic sources.

Scientific Citation Style Guides

ACS Style Guide (American Chemical Society)
from Chemistry/OhioLink Resource Explorer.
CBE (Council of Biology Editors) Style Guide
University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 6th ed. Includes guidelines for print sources.
NLM Style Guide
University of Washington
Examples are based on The National Library of Medicine: Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation. Includes guidelines for print sources.
Online! A reference guide to using Internet resources
Andrew Harnack and Eugene Kleppinger, 2003 update
Examples are based on the book of the same name. Includes guidelines for electronic sources based on MLA, APA, Chicago, and CBE styles.

More Style Guides

APSA (American Political Science Association)
University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The Style Manual for Political Science. Includes guidelines for print sources.
American Sociological Association Style Guide
California State University Los Angeles
This guide is intended for authors who are preparing manuscripts for publication in ASA journals. This handout is intended for students who are instructed to use "ASA style" when writing research papers. Consult the ASA Style Guide at the Reference Desk for additional or more detailed information.
CBE (Council of Biology Editors) Documentation
University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on Scientific Style and Format. Includes guidelines for print sources.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
University of Chicago
Chicago Style
University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The Chicago Manual of Style and Turabian's Manual for Writers. Includes guidelines for both print and electronic sources.
Citing Electronic Information in History Papers
University of Memphis
Examples are based various citation styles. Includes guidelines for electronic sources.
Citing Medicine: the NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
Columbia Guide to Online Style (CGOS)
by Janice Walker and Todd Taylor
A guide to locating, translating, and using the elements of citation for both a humanities style (based on MLA and Chicago) and a scientific style (based on APA and CBE). Includes examples for citing electronic sources.
NLM Style Guide
University of Washington
Examples are based on The National Library of Medicine: recommended formats for bibliographic citation. Includes guidelines for print sources.
Online! A reference guide to using Internet resources
Andrew Harnack and Eugene Kleppinger
Examples are based on the book of the same name. Includes guidelines for electronic sources based on MLA, APA, Chicago, and CBE styles.

Login to RefWorks

By Style

Related Topics



Updated: August 10, 2009



© Consortium Library
University of Alaska Anchorage
3211 Providence Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508

close menu
close
close menu
close
close menu

Special Hours

Closed: September 7, November 26
Late: Open to 2:00am from December 2 - 11
close